Courtesy of David Fuller, Mainlog
Many loggers send the daily updates via email. You will have an attachment with an "ml_" extension. (i.e. <your file name>.ml_ ) This is a compressed, temporary file, and should not be archived. In most e-mail programs, such as Outlook and Outlook Express, you simply double click the attachment, and select open. MainLog will decompress the file and place all the files contained in the compressed "ml_" file in the folder where MainLog is installed, typically C:\mainlog or C:\program files\mainlog. MainLog will then look for the <your file name>.mlw file (MainLog data file) in the install folder and open it. You may then delete the email, as the files now exist permanently on your hard drive.
Some email programs, like Yahoo and G-Mail, will require you to download (to the desktop is a convenient place) the attachment before opening it. If so, simply double click the attachment after saving it to your computer. MainLog will do the same process as above, and then delete the "ml_" file from the desktop, or where ever you saved it to.
The files are now in the install folder, and you no longer need the temporary "ml_" file. When you close MainLog, it saves the current file name, and will open the same file when you next open MainLog from the Desktop shortcut. If you open by double clicking an "ml_" file, the file associated with that "ml_" file will open.
The "ml_" file is a compressed (zipped) file, containing numerous MainLog files, including the .mlw, .hdr, .rpt, and depending on circumstances, possibly any or all the file types described below. Once opened, it is no longer needed, and should NOT be archived. If you wish to archive the compressed file to save storage, rename the file by changing the extension to "td_". Do not change the part of the file name before the period, just the extension <your file name>.td_). The TD tells MainLog this file contains data to Total Depth, and the well is finished drilling. MainLog will treat this file the same as an "ml_" file EXCEPT it will not delete it after decompressing the files to the Install folder.